The Potting Shed
A little pricey but great food, interior and Fluffy the parrot adds an extra special touch to the environment!
Dined at the Potting Shed today and had a terrible customer service experience. Firstly my mums meal was completely forgotten, mine was served and 10min went by so we approached a passing waitress and asked her to provide an update. She then proceeded to continue serving food to all the tables around us not bothering to update on our missing food. My mum then had to get up from her seat and walk over to the servers desk to find out an update. By the time she got her meal 20minutes had passed since the other meal was received. Further she ordered the veal cutlet, which came medium rare in the middle - she was never asked at time of ordering if she was fine with this or how she would like the meat cooked. Being such a thick cut serve, this should have been addressed by the waitress who took our order. At the end of the meal our plates were taken away, we were not offered dessert menus or asked if we wanted anything further. Again completely left alone for a good half hour before we had to ask a waitress for the bill. So incredibly disappointing. Would not recommend and would not return. Also obviously charged full price despite the muck up in the order and no apologies from the wait staff.
Thank you so much for reaching out, I'm so disappointed to hear you were let down by your experience here. Please accept our apologies for the less than brilliant service you received. I'd love to get some details from you if you're willing, so I can follow up with the relevant staff. Yesterday was the launch of our brand new menu so we did expect some teething problems, however it's feedback like yours that helps us to solve them. I'd love to invite you back so that we can make it up to you.
Generally we have a good experience at the grounds but this time most of the food was out of stock so had a very limited menu. Service was really slow and took an hour to receive our mains... just kind of felt forgotten about really!
Hello Jessie, Firstly thank you for being a returning customer. We are sorry to hear your experience was let down by the slow service and limited menu - that did not meet expectations from previous visits. We do hope that this does not deter you from enjoying another time within The Grounds and see you back sometime soon! Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
We booked a table for 6 people and were already in queue by 13:10, we were sittes 15 minuts later or 13:30. We orderee. Drinks were served outright but the food that we ordered came 45 minutes later and cold. The food was served because we have to stand up and make a follow up. The other waitresses were not as friendly and tend to ignore us.
Very Poor experience for us to think that we go to The Grounds frequently.
Hi Belle, Thank you for sharing your experience with us at The Potting Shed. I am so sorry to hear you had a less than brilliant experience. I would love to be able to follow up with the relevant staff, if you'd like to provide some extra details. Again, please accept our apologies, no matter how busy the venue may seem, we should always be providing outstanding customer service. I look forward to hearing back from you, so we can make it right on your next visit. Kind regards, Catherine.
A busy time of year meant a longer wait than normal for table service. Waitress was pleasant and attentive when she finally managed to get to our table. One of my guests was not overly happy with her meal choice. Her comment was that it was just fish and chips. My other guest enjoyed his steak. My choice for dinner was not available (lamb shoulder) so the burger was ok. We were disappointed that the 3 cocktail special was not available. We could only surmise that the bar was too busy to make them. The grounds was beautiful as always and we loved the Frozen 2 theme.
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback, and taking the time to reach out about your experience at The Potting Shed. I am sorry to hear you felt the service was slower than usual - we have definitely reviewed our roster to ensure we avoid the lengthy waits, so thank you for being understanding. We have just launched our new summer menu - do make sure you come along to try it out. We look forward to seeing you again. Warmest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Everything was Amazing.
The food was fantastic...the fluffy tiki cocktail was delicious and the staff were lovely.
The venue itself was beyond our expectations.
Absolutely loved It!!
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience at The Potting Shed. We look forward to having you again! Warm regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Lovely location and atmosphere with delicious food! I think their booking system needs to be reviewed because staff were very stressed and overwhelmed. Service was very slow because the staff just couldn’t cope.
Hi Michaela, Thank you for your feedback. We definitely agree that Saturday was an experience to learn from and have reviewed our staffing levels to ensure everyone is well looked after, and that our staff are able to give great service to all our guests. Thank you for your honesty, and we hope to see you again! Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
I would recommend to a friend because of the ambience and lovely food however found service was very poor and not overly attentive. Found it hard to get a hold of our waitress, she wasn’t overly friendly. I won’t be going back though in a hurry, service is equally important as the quality of food to me.
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us about your experience at The Potting Shed. I am so sorry to hear you were let down by the service - I would love to know a bit more information about your visit, so we can follow up with the related staff. Good, personable service is something we pride ourselves on at The Grounds, so I am so disappointed you did not receive that experience. I would love to make it up to you, if you would like to get in touch. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager
We were seated 15 minutes after our reservation time which is inevitable how ever Wait Staff were super friendly and welcoming offering us a complimentary garlic bread for the wait as well as being over accommodating as we had our 2 year old daughter dining with us. The kids pack was an absolute treat and kept her occupied whilst our food was being prepared and the staff there defiantly deserve recognition!
Thank you, our family greatly appreciate it and will defiantly return in the future with our family and friends.
Hi Jaylyn, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your Friday night with us. We take a great effort in being as accommodating as possible and happy to be of service! Thanks for writing to us, we hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Great service from staff. Received a text message when table was ready. Cocktails were amazing!! and the decorations/twinkling lights were beautiful.
Hi Fitz, Thanks for visiting The Potting Shed, we are so glad you enjoyed your Cocktails and our beautiful venue! Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Food took too long this time. It normally doesn't take as long. We were waiting an hour
Hi Frances, We are sorry to hear about the long wait for your food. I have passed on your feedback to the team and are taking a look into this issue. As you mentioned the wait time you experienced was not normal for us. We would love for you to reach out to us so we can see you again and make sure you enjoy your next visit. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
I wouldn’t recommend this place for the food quality. They ran out of cheeseburgers, my halloumi salad was cold and my partners steak was very tough.
Hi There, I am so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your food experience at The Potting Shed. We have discussed your comments with the chefs and suppliers, so thank you for your honesty. I am sorry to hear you felt let down by the Halloumi salad - it is intended to be served as a cold salad, rather than warm. We would love to be given another opportunity to make your experience right, and we are launching a new menu shortly, so do come along to try. Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager
Really good food, but while the service was polite, it was incredibly slow - we were among the first to be seated at 11.30am, however waited and watched while table after table around usreceived and finished their meals before ours had even arrived at our table - we were a table of 3 only while tables of 6+ received their meals before us. Our drinks also took about 20 minutes to get to the table after ordering.
We loved the Potting Shed as a venue though, such a lovely environment to dine in, and the misting fans made the warm day enjoyable. However it must be said that we found it incredibly difficult getting around the Grounds in general - so many obstacles and props in the way, we had to stoop to walk because all the imitation trees were super low so we couldn't walk standing upright (none of us are particularly tall), and the paths were so cluttered with props that it was incredibly difficult to walk around because you could only really move in single file which meant the vast number of people taking photos held up the entire flow of traffic.
All in all it was enjoyable but I think you guys have over extended yourselves - perhaps pair it back a bit so that it looks good but is also still a functional entertaining space.
Hi Melanie, We are happy to hear you enjoyed our menu and apologise that you were let down by the slow service. Thank you for your valuable feedback in regards to our installation we will pass this onto our design team. Hope this experience does not deter you from coming back, we hope to see you again sometime soon! Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Overall the dinning experience was very good. The service staff were friendly.food was excellent.
Only issue was the desert portion was too small and not good value
Hi Chris, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! Thanks for your review and feedback in regards to your dessert - I have passed this on to the team. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
I have no word to express how good the service was. All the staff were very friendly and nice. Food was amazing.
Hi Ramin, Thank you very much for all of your kind words, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed the service from our wonderful staff and delicious food! We would love to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager.
I booked a table for two
Unfortunately I didn’t expect to get a round small table that couldn’t even fit all our food on it.
We were placed in awkward spot right next to a tall bench with everyone Towering over us -
Food was good , drinks were good but we were constantly trying to move around things and couldn’t even eat properly due to size of table! We went elsewhere for dessert as I just got annoyed by the end of it all. Wanted it to be special for my husband but it turned out to be a circus juggling food n drinks all night.
Hello Juels, Thank you for your review. Our round tables are designed to seat up to three people, however, we can understand they seem smaller once the dishes on these tables. We try to encourage our guests to have starters then mains to avoid the table being too full. Comments like yours help us to improve, so thank you for your honesty. We would love for you to revisit to make up for the experience Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Its a pretty place with very average food and service. Ordered garlic baguette which was so hard that it would have required industrial grade tools to cut in pieces. In addition their was no cutlery on the table, when asked for it, the expressions from the staff were as if asked for one of his organs.Getting attention of the wait staff was equally difficult. After the main course, we struggled grab staff's attention to order more food. In the end, we gave up, and left without ordering anything further. The sad part is, this whole time I could see the some people from the staff burying their faces in their phones in a corner near the kitchen. Its a pretty place, but that all.
Hi Tejas, Thank you for reaching out. I am so disappointed & sorry to hear you were so let down by the service you received, especially when it was for such a special occasion. I will be going through your comments in great detail with the related staff members, as this is absolutely not the standard we pride ourselves on. It is feedback like yours that allow us to improve & work on our areas of opportunity. I would love to make it up to you, if you'd like to get in touch. Warmest, Catherine.
Price is reasonable but menu has very limited option for vegetarians. Place is enchanting but waiter was little stand offish.
Hello, Thank you for your honest feedback, we do ensure our menu include dishes to cater all dietary preferences. We are so happy to hear you liked the beauty of the space. We will take on the feedback in regards to our waitstaff. We hope to see you back for an even better experience dining within The Potting Shed. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Food is a little expensive but served beautifully in nice surrounds. Staff were attentive. We enjoyed it.
Hi Jennifer, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourselves, and thank you for your honesty. Looking forward to having you join us again! Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
Such a lovely place. Our table wasnt ready when we got there so we were taken to the bar. Took a bit too long to get to our table but they were apologetic. Food was very nice and the atmosphere beautiful with all the plants etc but the noise level was disappointing - far too loud. Overall very nice though and would return but during the day as would be worried about noise level again.
Hello Jezabel, Thank you for your patience and understanding with the seating arrangements. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our menu and appreciate your kind words for the beauty of the space. We will take on your feedback with the noise level, we hope you will visit The Potting Shed again sometime. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Lovely setting, nice staff and great food. Throughly recommend.
Hi Charlie, Thanks so much for your lovely feedback. We look forward to having you back! Kindest, Catherine, Venue Manager.
They seemed to be under staffed. Glasses and plates left on the table for too long. Food order was missed.
Hi Anon, Thank you your honest feedback. We apologise that you felt let down by the service you received - we were overwhelmed by the response of customers on Saturday night and have definitely increased our staffing levels from our observations and feedback such as yours. We hope you return so we can make up for a more enjoyable experience upon your next visit within The Potting Shed. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
This was a terrible experience, the service was terrible we were left wwiting or having to ask for service, water, drinks. The food was awful, soggy burger, over salted mash potato underwhelming and over priced to say the least. Definitely a no return!
Hi Nadine, Thank you so much for your honesty. We apologise for the less than brilliant experience you received. Would like to hear more about your time in The Potting Shed and hope for you to dine with us again so we can make the experience right. We look forward to hearing from you to give us another opportunity. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
We love The Grounds, and The Potting Shed. Delicious food, spectacular display/decorations and a lovely vibe. We took our parents and son out for a quick easy dinner and we all had a great time and everyone loved their meals and drinks. Looking forward to returning.
Hi Amber, We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable experience - thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Kind Regards, Lilli, Manager
Went for dinner with a group of 6. We ordered a dessert that started it could be made nut free but when we ordered it the waitress says “even though is says in the menu it can be made but free it can’t actually be made but free”
Thank you for getting in touch. While The Potting Shed menu does have nut free options & our chefs take great care when dealing with any allergies, we ensure to advise our guests of risk of exposure to cross contamination, as we do use nuts and seeds within other dishes. As an extra precaution to any guest who is anaphylactic, we do need to remind our guests that we are not a nut free venue. I am so sorry you felt were misinformed. We hope to see you again to make it up to you. Cat, Manager.
Service was amazing and so helpful! The venue is so well designed with an antique/modern vibe. The abundance of flowers and greenery just makes you feel like you’re home.
Great afternoon had at the potting shed, with four other friends from high school ie. we met in 1977. Same school, different paths great to catch-up and share our personal journey. Two reside in Queensland, one in Wollongong and two in the Sutherland Shire.
It was lovely your staff were kind to snap a few photos for us of our group. Loved the theme of The Grounds “ maleficent” as well.
The pemises surroundings and service was great it was on point, not much of a waiting time and staff obliging and friendly... so thank you.
Hi there, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and the lovely story about your high school reunion, sounds like you all really enjoyed yourself :) Hope to have your next reunion with us! Best regards, Lilli Potting shed Manager
I regularly take visitors to The Potting Shed for the marvellous food staff and magickal experience.
I have never been disappointed and am so very happy and confident to recommend this dining experience to anyone thinking of going.
You won't be disappointed and such value for money.
Hi Senga, Thank you so much for your beautiful feedback about our restaurant! Sounds like you enjoy the Potting Shed just as much as we do! Best regards, Lilli Potting Shed Manager
Delicious food and cocktails! Lovely service, highly recommend.
Hi Nancy, Thank you for your lovely feedback. Looking forward to having you back soon. Best regards, Lilli Potting Shed Manager
Very beautiful ambient and even better food ! The cocktail list is quite long and delicious and the food was fresh in nicely decorated.
Hi Suzana, Thanks so much for your great feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon for a few more cocktails! Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Fantastic customer service, great ambience and fabulous food
Hi Tom, We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us on Friday. hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Very nice place with beautiful garden and fountains. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Had a great time.
Hi Crystal, Thanks for coming to visit The Grounds, happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
The Potting Shed looked even better in person than in pictures - and we loved meeting Fluffy the parrot!
As it’s such a trendy place, I was expecting the food to be photogenic but taste only average (as is often the case with instagram-worthy places) but it tasted even better than it looked. The Potting Shed is worth the hype and did not disappoint! Even on a weekday morning, the place was buzzing. We can’t wait to come back!
Hello, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time within the Potting Shed and meeting Fluffy. Hope to see you back again sometime soon! Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
Great food, great service! What more could you want.
Hi Carolynne, Thanks for visiting The Potting Shed and giving us some nice feedback. Hope to see you soon! Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
I love the relaxed feel of this place, as though one is eating in its own backyard garden. Surrounded with lovely pots of real plants, comfortable and relaxing. I definitely would return with family and friends from overseas to try more dishes. The Shed burger, Thai Pork Bao, Mushroom pie and cucumber goat cheese salad was so good. The Strawberry-Passion fruit juice is a must to go with the burger. Service was well-timed and friendly, although I was driving and we did not order alcohol but the bar tender at the bar area charms everyone.
Hi Susu, We are so happy to hear all of your kind words about us, thank you so much for your great feedback. We can't wait to see you again and are excited for you to try one of our delicious cocktails next time! Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager
We had the loveliest time celebrating a special anniversary for my parents and were quite touched by the complimentary bubbles. 😊 The atmosphere was so special, the food delicious & the service was friendly and professional. We had a great experience. Thank you ☺️
Hi Lisa, Thanks a lot for your feedback ! So glad that your parents spent a great anniversary ! Hope to see you soon at The The Potting Shed ! Kind Regards, Gareth, Restaurant Manager
Love the interior and whole set-up of the Grounds. You created a jewel in Alexandria. The food was absolutely delish! Would love to see more vegan dishes on the menu. Will come back for sure.
Hi Adrian, Thanks a lot for your comment ! We will be more than happy to see you again at The Grounds of Alexandria ! Kind Regards, Gareth, Restaurant Manager
i bring my friend who come from Taiwan.
Let she very impressive ! So fantastic!
Thanks a lot for your reply. So happy that your friend enjoyed The Potting Shed ! We hope to see you soon in our venue ! Kind Regards, Sarah, Manager
For a Friday evening, it wasnt too packed so was a good time to visit and have dinner. Booked a table in advance which i advise as it was busy. Shown to table straight away. Ordered a cocktail (Furry Tiki) served in the iconic bird mug - i don't like strong cocktails so it was delicious, however skeptical how much alcohol it did contain or whether you just pay to drink from the mug... partner had a wine that was good quality.
The menu is fairly pricey, partner had a burger that was hard to eat but generous serving. I had pulled chicken toastadas - from the "Sharing" menu. It didnt look much on the plate but flavours were delicious and fresh, it was much more flavorful than it looked, phew!
We were seated on a small table in the corner, surrounded by plants although very close to neighbouring tables. There was a live singer playing music which was nice.
Stayed for a couple of hours, off-peak atmosphere. We daren't attempt to go at the weekends when it gets insanely busy!! Only downfall is that Friday evening after 5pm, the garden was closed for a private event and the cafe/pop up stalls were closed.
Hello Cara, Thanks a lot for your detailed feedback ! It means a lot to us ! We constantly try to improve our venue and menu. I will pass on this feedback to our team, as it only will help us develop. Kind Regards, Gareth, Restaurant Manager
We have Lunched at the Potting Shed quite a few times over the Years and always enjoyed the Food & Service however our last visit was disappointing. We arrived at 1pm and sat at our Table and a Waitress asked if we wanted anything immediately so we ordered some Garlic Bread which arrived promptly. We were not served drinks and could not get anyone's attention so ordered Drinks from the Bar. Over 75 minutes passed before we had anyone serve anything at all so by the time we received food it was well after 2.30pm (there appeared to be plenty of other tables in the same predicament). Hope this is not the new normal?
Hi Perry, We are so sorry to hear your last experience with us was not up to our standards. Thank you for your feedback, I have passed this onto the rest of the team. We hope that you get in touch with us - we would love for you to come back so we can show you how much pride we take in our service. Kind Regards, Catherine, Venue Manager